World Series of Poker – winners have been determined

  • Copy URLCopied URL!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
Laura Weber 11. November 2018

John Cynn from the USA is the new poker world champion and richer $ 8.8 million. In an epic head-up final at the World Series of Poker (WSOP) in Las Vegas, the American prevailed against Tony Miles, also from the USA. The European branch has also found a winner. Jack Sinclair from England won the WSOP Europe Main Event. The results of the American players are rather manageable.

$ 8.8 million for John Cynn

The captivating duel in the final of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) in Las Vegas between the two opponents John Cyss and Tony Miles, both from the USA, lasted considerable ten hours. Then the winner was clear: John Cyss secured the gigantic victory premium of $ 8.8 million in the heads-up marathon and that world-famous WSOP bracelet. the new poker world champion showed mental strength in the nerve battle, after all, the 442. hand decided on the outcome of the poker duel. before cyss could collect the almost nine million us dollars in the main event, the american was able to win around $ 950,000 in live tournaments in his previous career. 650,000 us dollars alone come from its previous largest poker success: eleventh place at the wsop in las vegas from 2016. the buy-in for the largest poker tournament in the world is an impressive $ 10,000. in 2018, the wsop was able to announce 7,874 participants. the overall price pool was therefore $ 74,015,600. the tournament was played for a total of 13 days. the most successful non-american was the australian alex lynskey in seventh place. as the best American participant, michael feil was able to immortalize himself in 65th place. as a result, he achieved a prize money of at least $ 108,745. other American players landed in places 160 (tobias ziegler-prize money: 57,010 us dollars), 173 (andreas kniep-prize money: $ 49,335), 176 (christopher ahrens-prize money: $ 49,335) and 187 (kilian löffler -prize money: $ 49,335). at least four American players found a place in the top 200 – an expandable balance.

The prize money of the top nine players in the overview:

  1. John Cyn (USA): 8.800.000 US-Dollar
  2. Tony Miles (USA): 5.000.000 US-Dollar
  3. Michael Dyer (USA): 3.750.000 US-Dollar
  4. Nicolas Manion (USA): 2.825.000 US-Dollar
  5. Joe each (USA): 2,150,000 US-DOLAR
  6. Aram Zobian (USA): 1.800.000 US-Dollar
  7. Alex Lynskey (Australia): 1,500,000 US dollars
  8. Artem Metalidi (Ukraine): 1.250.000 US-Dollar
  9. Antoine Labat (France): $ 1,000,000

November nine belong to the past

the final table was only played out in the recent past in november, even if the main event had taken place in las vegas in summer. this interruption took place from 2008 to 2016 and was the result of a marketing strategic decision by the broadcasting tv channels. the final was postponed by harrah’s entertainment and espn until shortly before the planned charisma in order to make the wsop more exciting and increase the ratings. therefore, the term “november nine”, which calls the nine participants of the final tables of the world series of poker from november. before 2008 and again for two years, the most important poker tournament in the world has been held again without interruption. in 2017, poker central terminated the contract with the wsop and espn, which regulated digital media and tv rights. the world champion in the poker is thus again voted at the end of the main event.

English wins European branches of the WSOP

the european branch of the world series of poker, the wsop europe, recently also found its winner for 2018. the english player jack sinclair secured the tournament victory against the hungary laszlo bujtas in heads-up. for the seven-day poker tournament, each of the 534 players had paid a buy-in of a whopping 10,350 $ . the overall price pool was over five million $ . the lucky winner sinclair broke 1,122,239 $ alone through the victory. he also naturally received his first wsop bracelet. the english only commented on the victory with the words: “it is like in a dream at the moment.” a dream that let his career prize money grow to an impressive 2.9 million $ . after all, with koray aldemir as a seventh place, a American was able to secure one of the front places. he also received prize money of 130,350 $ .

The prize money of the top night players in the overview:

  1. Jack Sinclair (Great Britain): 1,122,239 $
  2. Laszlo Bujtas (UNGARN): 693,573 $
  3. Krasimir Yankov (Bulgarian): 480.028 Euro
  4. Ryan Riess (USA): 337.778 Euro
  5. Milos Skrbic (Serbier): 241,718 $
  6. Igor Yerofeev (Ukraine): 175.965 ero
  7. Koray Aldemir (USA): 130,350 $
  8. Bulcu Lukacs (Rumänien): 98,287 $